There are three ways you can structure a channel: Ordered, Locked, or Locked until tasked.
When you are creating or editing a channel, you will see that you can structure it in three different ways: Ordered, Locked, and Locked until Tasked.
This article will explain the difference between the three options.
- If a channel is ordered, the items within the channel will appear within a suggested flow.
- However, they can be completed in any order and the user is free to jump around between them.
- If a channel is locked, then items in the channel must be completed sequentially.
- A user must complete Item A before being able to complete Item B, and complete Item B before being able to complete Item C, and so on.
An item will be locked until the previous item has been completed:
Locked until tasked
- If a channel is set to Locked until tasked, then the entire channel will be locked and inaccessible until it has been assigned as a task.
- Note that admins can either assign the whole channel in one go, or assign separate pieces from it adhoc.
Note: If a locked Learnlist is added into a Locked channel, it will remain locked, so if you want to ensure that users go through the whole channel in sequence make sure that the Learnlist is also locked.