When someone leaves your business or is no longer a member of your community (or any other reason) you may want to deactivate them. Follow these steps...
What does deactivating a user do?
When you deactivate a user you prevent them from logging in and accessing their account. You can still see their activity etc. If you wish to permanently remove a user, then follow the steps to delete them here
How can I use deactivation?
You can use deactivation as a way to manage staff on long term sick leave or parental leave (and then reactivate them again later).
Please note that deactivating a user means that all of their data is saved and will be accessible again once they are reactivated.
What's the difference between deactivating a user and deleting a user?
Deactivating a user: All of the user's data will be saved and they can be reactivated (at which point the data will be accessible again).
Deleting a user: All of the user's data will be deleted completely, and you won't be able to reactivate them or access their data again.
How do I deactivate a user?
- Click 'People' > 'Individuals'
- To find the person that you want to deactivate: Click Filter by > Name > Type the name you're searching for and the names below should filter dynamically
- Click the 3 dots on the far right of that persons row, and select 'Deactivate user'
- You will be prompted to confirm that you want to deactivate this user, assuming this is correct, click 'yes'
- Filter by 'Deactivated' to see that the user you deactivated has now had their status changed.
- If at any point you want to 'Re-activate' the user, you can do so. Please double check their teams etc. to make sure they are set up as you wish