Duplicating a Learnlist: Two different ways

There are two different ways to duplicate a Learnlist: Mirroring or Duplicating.

Screen Shot 2019-09-10 at 14.06.01

There are two different ways to duplicate a Learnlist. This article will explain both ways and the difference between the two options.

Where do I go to duplicate a Learnlist? 

Go to the Manage Learnlists page:

 

Select the three pips of the Learnlist you'd like to duplicate:

 

Option 1: Create mirror Learnlist

Screen Shot 2019-09-10 at 14.05.20

- If you create a mirror Learnlist, this will only duplicate the original Learnlist.

- The new mirror Learnlist will contain exactly the same items as the original Learnlist.

- This means that whatever permanent changes you make to the original Learnlist (e.g. adding new items, deleting items, renaming items, etc), these changes will also occur to the mirror Learnlist.

- E.g. If the original Learnlist has 10 items and you delete an item so that it has 9 items, the new mirror Learnlist will now also have 9 items. 

In summary: whatever permanent changes are made to the original Learnlist, the exact same changes will also happen to the new mirror Learnlist.

Option 2: Duplicate Learnlist and clone each item

Screen Shot 2019-09-10 at 14.14.23

- This option will duplicate both the Learnlist and each of its individual items. 

- I.e. Documents, quizzes, items, surveys, events, and e-learning packages will all be duplicated.

 

What does this mean?

- This means that any changes you make to the original Learnlist will not occur in the new duplicated Learnlist.

- E.g. If you delete items from the original Learnlist, these items will remain in the new duplicated Learnlist.

- E.g. If you rename items in the original Learnlist, the original names will remain in the new duplicated Learnlist.

In summary: The two Learnlists will be completely independent of each other, and changes made in one will not occur in the other.

 

Reporting on the completion of Learnlists:

Mirrored Learnlist:

- Items within a mirrored Learnlist will only be reported as completed once

- So even though there are two items, you will only see the completion of one item as it is the same item.

Duplicated Learnlist:

- If you complete a Learnlist that has been duplicated, if you complete one Learnlist, the other Learnlist will not be marked as completed.