Duplicating a Channel: Two different ways

There are two different ways to duplicate a Channel: Mirroring or Duplicating.

There are two different ways to duplicate a Channel. This article will explain both ways and the difference between the two options.

 

Where do I duplicate the Channel? 

First, go to the Manage Channels page:

 

Go to the Three pips of the Channel you would like to duplicate, and you will see the Duplicate option:

 

Option 1: Create mirror Channel

- If you create a mirror Channel, this will only duplicate the original Channel.

- The new mirror Channel will contain exactly the same items as the original Channel.

- This means that whatever permanent changes you make to the original Channel (e.g. adding new items, deleting items, renaming items, etc), these changes will also occur to the mirror Channel.

- E.g. If the original Channel has 10 items and you delete an item so that it has 9 items, the new mirror Channel will now also have 9 items. 

In summary: whatever permanent changes are made to the original Channel, the exact same changes will also happen to the new mirror Channel.

Option 2: Duplicate Channel and clone each item

- This option will duplicate both the Channel and each of its individual items. 

- I.e. Documents, quizzes, items, surveys, events, and e-learning packages will all be duplicated.

What does this mean?

- This means that any changes you make to the original Channel will not occur in the new duplicated Channel.

- E.g. If you delete items from the original Channel, these items will remain in the new duplicated Channel.

- E.g. If you rename items in the original Channel, the original names will remain in the new duplicated Channel.

In summary: The two Channels will be completely independent of each other, and changes made in one will not occur in the other.

 

Reporting on the completion of Channels:

Mirrored Channel:

- Items within a mirrored Channel will only be reported as completed once

- So even though there are two items, you will only see the completion of one item as it is the same item.

Duplicated Channel:

- If you complete a Channel that has been duplicated, if you complete one Channel, the other Channel will not be marked as completed.